The South

It is hard to define the South.
There is disagreement as to which states are subsumed under this term. According to the U.S. Census Bureau it includes sixteen states, according to other sources only those eleven ones which declared their secession in protest against the election of Abraham Lincoln in 1860. On top of that, West Virginia, in spite of being located in the centre, is commonly classified as part of the South, whereas Arizona, despite bordering Mexico, is not. Rather than to a geographical territory, the term apparently refers to a cultural region.
What is it that makes the South so different from the rest of the country?
A road trip around Louisiana, Arkansas, Tennessee and Mississippi – and a boat trip to the alligators